Although, I have to admit that I am not a “voracious reader” as some people would usually say, I do have my days when I pick a book and flip through the pages. The problem with me is that I don’t think I have that much patience to go through all the pages and blah blah.. What I truly need in a book is something that you benefit out of it at the end.

If you do happen to understand the inner meaning of the text written by the author, then I would say that you TRULY have read  a book.

Here, I want to share with you about this really inspiring book that I was referred to read by a friend of mine. “Jonathan Livingston Seagull” by Richard Bach.

                                                        Johnathan Livingston Seagull.jpg

The name does sound a bit cheesy and all, but I am sure you are going to hit yourself with the book after reading it, for making the wrong assumption!

The story traces the life and journey about a seagull, that goes by the name Jonathan. Living on the sea-shore, with his seagull clan, he is a gull who is completely different from the rest of the clan. Ever questioning the existence of life as a seagull, his is expelled from his cast and declared as an “Outlaw” for being different.

However, his never-say-die spirit teaches him some extraordinary things in life. After learning all the skills that a seagull needs to learn, he returns back to the clan, thereby breaking the law that was written that an outcast cannot return back to the clan. He then goes on to teach his newly learnt skills, experiences and wisdom, to other young and curious young seagulls.

The ain underlying message that I perceived from this book, is that BE WHAT YOU WANT TO BE.

People, expect you to be the same as them, but when you learn that you are something different from them, then you are branded an outcast. Differences are bound to arise in every situation in life. People react differently and are, thus “classified accordingly.”

I was really amazed to understand that this book, was almost something that explains my personality. I am not “that” friendly a person, my friends wanted me to be like them. I refused. They shunned me, but I just didn’t bother and went on to continue with my life, which I eventually learnt it to be the right thing I did.

I can sense that society is starting to change its perception and shake off pre-historic assumptions and rules et years ago. Yet, it is only in its stage of infancy and there is still a long way to go. differences in nationality, race, religion, colour, gender identity, sexual orientation, etc are just some of the major differences that are facing this ever-changing world.

I have to say, that I constantly keep stressing on 1 fact that I rely upon, most of the time, for any situations, and that is EDUCATION. Literate people who know how to weigh both the pluses and minuses will be able to accept change in any way possible.

On a concluding note, I would also like to share with you a quote, that I can say, I personally live by :

“Some people say, I have changed; But the truth is, I have just stopped living my life, their way!”

Until next time, Happy blogging..

