I do certainly believe that there are three major factors the life of an individual. Confidence, Common sense and Cosmos (Luck, in my opinion!!!). A few months back, me and few of my friends were waiting for a job interview in a big telecom major (based in Finland, you should have guessed it by now?). One of them was extremely nervous, in the sense about the interview, the interviewer, the whole experience..et al.. I of course ultimately got the job which I should say had a hefty pay package, but I rejected it outright. Many of my friends and classmates were utterly shell-shocked at my decision. I know the decision I took because I was able to weigh all options in my career based on two things that I strongly rely upon for support, apart from my parents, Confidence, common sense and Luck.

I took the decision of rejecting the job offer, because I felt confident enough that I can do better things with my life than be cooked up in a cubicle for the next 10, 20 or 30 years of my life. I mean after I am young, and I have a robust life ahead for me to explore, to all possible limits.

I want to explore, travel, write, read, meet new people, learn new things, start my own business, etc.. and many other diversified interests that I want to fulfill. Yes, I do agree to a certain limit that you need monetary support and “Society’s perception” of you as an individual, will change. 

But ultimately question yourself this, at a time you are 60, nestled snuggly in an arm-chair at your farmhouse in Bahamas or Monte Carlo,

HAVE YOU SPENT YOUR LIFE WISELY?

DID YOU DO WHATEVER YOU ALWAYS DREAMT OF, WITH YOUR LIFE?

HAVE YOUR SUCCESSFULLY OR ATLEAST MADE AN EFFORT TO FULFILL YOUR AMBITIONS/GOALS THAT YOU SET AS A TEENAGER/YOUNG ADULT? 

I am sure, more than half the population in this world, will answer NO tp the questions posed above. I don’t mean to criticize the “corporate citizens” but ultimately I personally feel that they don’t get to do what they always wanted to.

I for one want to combine my creative interests and professional goals together, because I have the self-confidence to do it someday or the other. And if your confident, I am sure luck will follow you…

I do understand that Luck is something beyond our control, although Max Gunter has outlined http://in.news.yahoo.com/139/20100914/385/ten-here-are-13-ways-to-get-lucky.html 13 ways to get lucky, I am sure it is something that we cannot determine or underestimate. However, Confidence is something that you can control. It is definitely something innate and that which boosts up your spirits. Examine yourself as to whether you are confident in your self. Apart from inner strength that you can derive, you can also try other external stimulants that may help in strengthening your confidence, that may include

Music(I completely swear by it!)- Make a list of your favorite songs, and listen to them when you feel tensed, have to take a decision or even when your going for a job interview.

Physical Exercise/Meditation: Although I don’t meditate that often, I do workout. Research has found that Physical exercise help in relaxing you and thus it indirectly boost your confidence apart from getting that body that you always wanted!!!

Another important factor that one has to adopt is common sense. Don’t exaggerate or fly too high in the skies. Because when you fall from a really “high place” your sure to get hurt very badly! Stay grounded and think logical or rational before taking up a challenge or decision.

So, if a Lucky guy learns to look at a situation from both sides with self-confidence before taking up a challenge or making a decision, he is sure to bear fruit at a later point in his life, Guaranteed!!!

